And so it begins


It’s hard to believe that only three years ago I received my offer to undertake a Bachelor of Psychology Honours. In between making some great friends, the various concerts I have been to (U2, Muse and Death Cab for Cutie to name a few), a trip overseas and turning 21, I learned about the worlds of university and psychology.  With my Honours year starting in 2011, I’m sure I have many more new experiences and challenges ahead of me.

asaddddddddddddddddddd

What is an Honours degree? Well, it differs according to discipline. Some people graduate with Honours based on their undergraduate GPA, others complete an additional year of study involving coursework and/or a thesis. I’ll be writing a 9,000 – 12,000 word thesis and taking topics in statistics and applied psychology. Yes, I will have to write a lot next year but as a friend of mine explained the average university essay is 1500-2000 words so considering the number of essays I typically write in a year anyway helps me keep my thesis word count in perspective.

The first stage of Honours begins in February. I’ll attend a meeting about what to expect and have interviews with  potential supervisors.  While this is all a little way off yet, I already have a few supervisors and subject areas in mind plus some ideas about what I would like to get from this year.

My goals are:

  • To gain an Honours mark that will help gain me a place in a postgraduate program in my state
  • Become more confident writing for psychology
  • Interpret and apply statistics with greater confidence
  • Learn more about real-world psychology
  • Develop my thesis writing, research proposal and time management skills
  • Keep up my volunteering with a local group of people that have intellectual disabilities
  • Strike a balance between study and my social life
  • And lastly, to enjoy the experience!

Feel free to comment or ask me questions. I will try to post with some regularity.

Enjoy the Christmas season!

2 Comments

Filed under Honours year

2 responses to “And so it begins

  1. Hi There, I note that you have seen my blog, which is loosely about my experience and the opinions I have developed along the journey of advocating for my (now) adult son with ID and autism. I have decided to start reading your blog from the beginning of your journey, because it sounds like an interesting experience (for you who lived it and for me now reading it). I know someone who has almost completed a PhD titled ‘Why would you want to be a support worker?’ Perhaps your goals and discoveries may connect with some of his. I will read on and find out.)

  2. Thanks for your interest in my blog. That’s a catchy PhD title, it sounds like an interesting project too.

Leave a Reply

