Walking on sunshine: When a setback becomes a springboard


Have you ever watched a musical and thought that all the singing was so artificial? That no one breaks into song to express their feelings in real life? Well, I can attest that after a meeting with my supervisor, I came quite close to it!

It all began with researching my topic area. I was disheartened to find that my original idea was well researched already. There were a few gaps in the literature, but I was unsure if they justified another project. It seemed like I might have to abandon my original plan so I sent my supervisor a synopsis of what I had found. Ironically, this proved the springboard for my project taking on a new and exciting direction. So much so, that I walked out of my next meeting with the prospect of doing an even better project that might one day be published.

I don’t mind telling you that I was walking around campus, simply grinning. I was as joyful as Maria in the opening credits of the Sound of Music. It was an amazing confidence boost to have the opportunity to take on such a great project. So for anyone out there on their Honours journey, maybe that hurdle you’re facing will turn out to be a blessing in disguise.


Leave a comment

Filed under honours project, Honours year

Leave a Reply

