I did it!


Over the last few weeks I’ve been waiting to start running my study, anticipating what it would be like to step into the role of a tutor and preparing to give a presentation about my research. Happily, I can now say that within the space of one week, all that waiting, anticipating and preparing is over.

On the other side of the classroom…

I am now officially a tutor. I was nervous as I waited for my first class to file in but once I started it was a lot of fun, the time flew by and, I grew in confidence. Surprisingly, the most difficult aspect of tutoring proved to be remembering which tutorial I had told what, because I ran them all back to back. Next time I have a content heavy rather than discussion focussed tutorial I plan to keep a check list of what I have covered to avoid repeating myself. No doubt each tutorial will keep me on my toes in one way or another, but I’m enjoying it.

Data collection begins

I’ve also started running my study. To my pleasant surprise it’s quite popular; the sessions I advertised were snapped up almost immediately. I was even able to administer the psychological tests with reasonable fluency.  Running my study is going to be great practice for psychological testing. However, as with any study, I’m now identifying all the tiny aspects that you never anticipate causing problems but that inevitably do. This has caused me a few headaches in the last week but having checked in with my supervisor for some advice I think things are now under control.

A problem shared…

This week also saw me share my research problem with the faculty in the form of a presentation. I like public speaking but the hour beforehand I was definitely nervous. Once I got up there though I felt  fine and managed to field a few responses to the questions that followed with my supervisor’s help. These questions will be helpful in terms of shaping the lens through which I present my argument.

All in all, what a week!

My tired kitty.

My tired kitty. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

1 Comment

Filed under A day in the life, Clinical Phd, communication, running a study, tutoring

One response to “I did it!

  1. Pingback: 2012 Haiku | Honourable Mentions

Leave a Reply

