Placement through the eyes of a Clinical PhD student


What people think being on a psychology placement is like…

1 Oh doctor the dream is so horrible

1 Oh doctor the dream is so horrible (Photo credit: Edith Ogleby)

What I thought it would be like…

English: A man diving into Lake Michigan off o...

English: A man diving into Lake Michigan off of his boat, which is anchored off shore of South Haven, MI. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

What it’s actually like…

Maybe you’re studying psychology, about to start your first placement or just plain curious. Regardless of how you found your way here, if you’re anything like me, you might be interested in what doing a psychology placement is like. Wonder no more because with all the authority of having five weeks of placement under my belt, I’m going to tell you a bit about the things I do…

Let’s dispel some myths. Apart from the couch in the waiting room, there isn’t another in sight. In fact you’re more likely to find a rocking chair than a therapist’s couch. And as for Rorschach blots and dream analysis, I’ve never studied or used either of them. To my knowledge, they’re not used very often if at all in my country, despite what you might see on TV.

Thankfully, placement  isn’t quite the ‘diving into the deep end’ experience that I thought it might be either. In fact I spent most of my first two weeks observing therapy and educational assessments. These were good opportunities to learn more about how therapy is structured, to familiarise and re-familiarise myself with assessment tools and to see a range of different therapeutic techniques. I’ve since spent the last few weeks administering and scoring an educational assessment and conducting therapy and initial consultations with children and parents under supervision. It’s challenging, but it’s also rewarding and a lot of fun. I’m also lucky to be in a training clinic and therefore surrounded by other people at varying stages of their placement and by supervisors from whom to learn.

Then of course there’s the glamorous side of placement: admin and prep! I’ve been taking referrals, ringing families and schools for updates,  reading about disorders and therapy techniques and putting together a therapy resources folder. For anyone starting their own resource folder, here’s a tip for you; Some people have pinned some handy therapy resources on Pinterest.

So, in sum, I’m really enjoying being on placement and can already see myself growing in confidence and competence as a psychologist in training. For those of you about to embark on your first placement, good luck and if your experiences are anything like mine, you’re going to love it!

Leave a comment

Filed under A day in the life, Clinical Phd, placement, Practice

Leave a Reply

