The fire-fighting duck


This is me . . .

Ducks

Ducks (Photo credit: Dustin and Jenae)

the proverbial duck paddling frantically under the water but looking serene on the surface. Well, I’m not so sure about the serene part, but there’s definitely a lot of frantic paddling going on.

For the last few weeks I’ve been juggling a placement, coursework, my research and a job as a research assistant (RA). Life hasn’t been this intense since the height of my honours year –  I’m inching towards a 50 hour work week, not to mention the commute! Don’t get me wrong, I’m loving all of it: placement is, quite frankly, amazing; I’m enjoying the context being on placement brings to coursework; I’ve had a streak of achieving milestones and general good news with my research; and, the RA work I’m doing is a lot of fun and good experience. There is truth in what they say though, you can’t do everything at once.

I know I can’t sustain my current frenetic pace over the long haul. The trick will be deciding what things I can scale back on without detriment and following through on this plan. I’ve noticed that I’m edging towards beginning a fire-fighting strategy which isn’t good and what really inspired this post. So to make sure I don’t become the fire-fighting duck, mired in an excess of work,  I think I’ll spend tomorrow morning getting my next study ready to get “out the door.”  Then, I’ll chase up one of my side projects that’s been languishing and also needs to get “out the door” smartly, and finally, batch together and power through all the little short-term tasks I need to do. Tomorrow is going to be a busy and productive day!

1 Comment

Filed under A day in the life, Clinical Phd

One response to “The fire-fighting duck

  1. Pingback: An adventure | Honourable Mentions

Leave a Reply

